January 13, 2008

  • The Book of Isaiah Chapter 1 V.1 Part 2.1

    The Book of Isaiah

    Chapter 1 V.1 Part 2.1

     

     

    Today, we’re looking at the first of the Kings mentioned here:

    Isa 1:1 

    THE vision of Isaiah the son of Amoz, which he saw concerning Judah and Jerusalem in the days of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, and Hezekiah, kings of Judah.

     

    Uzziah: (2 Chr 26)

     

    A contracted form of Azari’ah the Lord is my strength. (1.) One of Amaziah’s sons, whom the people made king of Judah in his father’s stead (2Ki 14:21; 2Ch 26:1).

     

    For clarity’s sake, Amaziah was one of the wicked kings that ruled in that time, which is why the reference here mentions that the people made Uzziah king in his stead. It’s that they willingly elected to have him despite his father, who they killed (2 Chr. 25:25-28; 2 Ki. 14:17-20) for his idolatry and wickedness.

     

    His long reign of about fifty-two years was “the most prosperous excepting that of Jehosaphat since the time of Solomon.”

    Uzziah or Azariah, son of Amaziah, and 11th king of Judah, came to the throne at the age of 16. The length of his reign is given as 52 years. His accession may here be provisionally dated in 783 BC. His father Amaziah had met his death by popular violence (2Ki 14:19), but Uzziah seems to have been the free and glad choice of the people (2Ch 26:1).

     

    He was a vigorous and able ruler, and “his name spread abroad, even to the entering in of Egypt” (2Ch 26:8,14). In the earlier part of his reign, under the influence of Zechariah, he was faithful to Jehovah, and “did that which was right in the sight of the Lord” (2Ki 15:3; 2Ch 26:4,5); but toward the close of his long life “his heart was lifted up to his destruction,” and he wantonly invaded the priest’s office (2Ch 26:16), and entering the sanctuary proceeded to offer incense on the golden altar.

     

    While reading this story in 2 Chr. 26, I saw that it was pride and arrogance that brought about the fall of this king.

     

    2Ch 26:16   But when he was strong his heart was lifted up, to his destruction, for he transgressed against the LORD his God by entering the temple of the LORD to burn incense on the altar of incense.

     

    Word for transgressed in the NIV is “unfaithful” and took me to this:

     

    1Sa 13:9   So he demanded, “Bring me the burnt offering and the peace offerings!” And Saul sacrificed the burnt offering himself. 

    1Sa 13:10   Just as Saul was finishing with the burnt offering, Samuel arrived. Saul went out to meet and welcome him, 

    1Sa 13:11   but Samuel said, “What is this you have done?” Saul replied, “I saw my men scattering from me, and you didn’t arrive when you said you would, and the Philistines are at Micmash ready for battle. 

    1Sa 13:12   So I said, `The Philistines are ready to march against us, and I haven’t even asked for the Lord’s help!’ So I felt obliged to offer the burnt offering myself before you came.” 

    1Sa 13:13   “How foolish!” Samuel exclaimed. “You have disobeyed the command of the Lord your God. Had you obeyed, the Lord would have established your kingdom over Israel forever. 

    1Sa 13:14   But now your dynasty must end, for the Lord has sought out a man after his own heart. The Lord has already chosen him to be king over his people, for you have not obeyed the Lord’s command.” 

Comments (6)

  • Thanks for stopping by and checking up on me. – Just posted an explaination for my absence.

    Gary

  • My goodness.  Are you a professor of theology?  Do you present these studies in some other context in “real life”, or just here on Xanga?

  • OMG…thanks for the compliment. I just like to study the word. I just like to get “deep.” I haven’t presented them anywhere else as of yet, except when applicable when I’m talking to friends and telling them what God has shown me. I’d love to present this in “real life,” but the door has not opened yet. It could well be that God does not consider me to be ready as yet, so I’m just studying at this moment for my own personal growth and benefit; and I just  post what I find here, because I love sharing knowledge and wisdom. Thanks so much for that comment. It helps me feel that I’m being useful for God. Peace and blessings.

  • Hahaha!  Glad to be of help.    I can certainly understand studying the Word.  But the fact that you go to the trouble of typing out your study and posting it on here is quite remarkable, methinks.  As I said in my own post, I’m a lazy writer, so if I don’t have to write something out I generally won’t. 

    I do hope that you find many useful outlets for the wisdom that God is so evidently imparting to you.  And I’m sure you will; what would be the point otherwise?

    I hasten to add that Xanga IS “real life”, in that we are all real people reading one another’s ramblings. 

  • And RYC about my mother:  Thanks for your insights.  I have a great deal of personal experience with depression.  I do know that my mother was depressed in certain ways, because she never got over feeling out of place in Chicago, the Big City.  She was a small town girl.  And she did have self-esteem issues because her father preferred boys to girls, and treated her like crap compared to how he treated her brother. Not abusively, but just in an unequal manner.

    I’d have a lot more sympathy for my mother if, in her denial of all the above, she hadn’t tried to overcompensate by emphasizing how wonderful and aristocratic and perfect she was.  In her mind she had no faults, and I was not allowed to even suggest that she had any.  As an only child I felt smothered by my mother, who fairly INSISTED that I turn out just like her and have no independent thoughts of any kind.  When I “grew a brain” in college, she and I began to fight like cats and dogs.  Many years later, she ended up disowning me (and I her, in response) because I dared to date and love a black woman.

  • RYC- thanks!  Waiting on God IS proactive…It’s not reactive to the situation at hand.  The more and more I think about it, living a reactive lifestyle is sinfulness. By reacting to the world, we are subserviant to it, we allow our situations to dictate our responses, and we don’t stand on any firm footing.  Christ calls us to ‘Go.’  That is a proactive thing.  That is being proactive in seeking his will…even if we have to wait for an opportunity.  Reactive is blaming, it is getting tossed on the sea of popular opinion, emotion, or even theology…it is allowing another object or idea to be your God…and it is a foolish way to live.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *